The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has been declared as the majority group in the 8th parliament of Ghana by Speaker Alban Bagbin.

This was as a result of an official letter read by the Speaker on behalf of the independent MP for Fomena Andrew Asiamah Amoako declaring to associate himself with the NPP caucus in parliament.

CHECK ALSO:  Photo: Former Asante Kotoko Player Augustine Sefah Now A Fetish Priest

Based on the 2020 parliamentary results, both the NPP and NDC had 137 seats while one seat went to the independent MP. Therefore, with the Fomena MP deciding to do business with the NPP caucus, they automatically become the majority group.

The Speaker in making the announcement said it is not the NPP party that has the majority but the group because the Fomena MP is still an independent candidate and was not brought into the office on the ticket of the NPP.

“I hereby declared the NPP Caucus the majority group in parliament,” Speaker Alban Bagbin said.

CHECK ALSO:  Google vs Oracle: Supreme Court Final Ruling On API Copyright Case

There has been a lot of back and forth surrounding which party is the majority in the 8th parliament since the end of the election with both parties having equal seats.

CHECK ALSO:  John Dramani Mahama Finally Gives One Single Reason Why He Won’t Accept The Results Declared By EC In An Interview With VOA

This announcement by the Speaker settles it all and the NPP is the majority group in the 8th parliament of Ghana. Therefore, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu is MAJORITY Leader and Haruna Iddrisu is MINORITY Leader.

Join Our WhatsApp TV to Get Music and News Update on WhatsApp Status,Click (Here)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here